top of page

Book Review: Even Money by Alessandra Torre


What attracted me to reading Even Money was that beautiful cover! The colours and title imagery are so pretty. Set in the sinful city of Las Vegas you could say the strip is a character in the book all on its own. Torre did a great job with describing this interesting place that has so much life.

We first meet Belle and I instantly liked her fun loving personality. She was really honest and straight forward which I loved, Belle is totally a modern woman. When Dario and Belle meet they have a very romantic moment where it feels like its only them in the room.

Their romance is forbidden but they made it work. I liked them together although I found the back and forth to be irritating. Belle admitted to herself that she had considerable feelings for Dario despite knowing the baggage he came with. Yet there was this annoying game of cat and mouse going on. I just felt like if she liked him she should accept what he came with and move on (which she eventually done) or just forget about him. If they spent a little time apart she would change her mind about the situation till they met again. This happened multiple times. which is why I considered giving this book a 3.5 star rating but the ending really made me want to read this next book.

Dario had a lengthy pursuit of Belle! His sexy alpha vibes had me swooning from the start. As the story goes on we see his sweet and caring side, his love able and sweet caring personality shines through even though he is the most powerful man in Vegas. Dario was for sure my favorite character.

Lets talk about the villain! I don't know about you guys but I love to hate a villain, the more terrible and evil they are the better. We definitely have a villain here and he kind of reminded me of R.Kelly. If you've been keeping up with the news surrounding him you'll know what i'm talking about. I was afraid and entertained by the villain in this story, his crazy mind made me want to laugh and cry!

The ending was a little predictable and I wasn't too shocked by it but I'm still looking forward to seeing the outcome of what happened. How will the situation be resolved? There will be a few punishments doled out that is certain! Can't wait to see how Torre amends this situation.


bottom of page