top of page

One of my 2018 top reads ~ Sinner written by Sierra Simone

A sinners review! Sinful, sexy and sinister.

While reading Sinner I found a song that I thought really matched well with Sean and Zenobia's book! It's so fun and sexy which is a lot of what Sinner is. There are some sad parts but for the most part it's a sexy book that will make you smile.

Zenny and Sean have been in each others life for years. He's watched her since she was just a small girl, being that Sean is best friends with Elijah who is Zenny's older brother. Now all he wants to do is fuck the shit out of her and he is definitely not holding back!

"I don’t think I can look at her for another second and not kiss her—I can’t listen to another word without needing her to say my name over and over again."

Zenny is a postulant and is so dedicated to God and is ready to make that commitment to him. She's so passionate about helping others and believes this is the best way to do so. I loved Zenny's character she was such a likable person and so easy to connect to. I loved her determination in everything she did, wanting her month with Sean to explore what it's like to live like a couple was a great example of this.

"Powerful and experienced and so hot I could barely even talk to you without stammering.”

Coming from a wealthy family Zenny has always had pressure coming from her parents to follow in their footsteps. Even though it was hard to say no and follow the path she wanted she still took the step in the direction she knew was for her.

"In classic Zenny fashion, she is a mix of fearlessness and uncertainty,"

Sean Bell the dirty fucker that he is showed me the most growth throughout this whole story. His journey beginning to end was so enjoyable to read. At the start I expected him to be the typical playboy character, I never really thought that I would love him this much. He was a total work-a-holic who never thought of finding love.

"I’m inherently dirty and I have no plans to change that any time soon."

But something that I found was different about him in particular is that he loved his family a lot. Usually hero's like him don't really have a strong family presence in their story. The addition of Sean's family to this book was fantastic, it made him more relatable.

I loved that Sean's instant thought when it came to Zenny was her well being and what she wanted. No matter what was going on he always thought about what the consequences would be for her. Their connection to each other was seriously hot and romantic.

"I’m greedy for this idea of her having a crush on me, of her wanting me with all this shy

conviction over the years."

______________________________

“Am I your lover?”

“You’re mine,” I say simply, crawling up onto the couch and over her body.

“For a month,” she corrects.

“For a month,”

One of the main reasons I loved and wanted to read Sinner was because of the diversity. For such a long time I've been crying out for authors to write books where at least one of their characters were from a minority background. There are so many books out there that feature only white characters and it's honestly so sad to me. As a black reader who has read over a thousand romance novels (I know, it's a lot.) it's really hurtful that there is a noticeable amount of books that have zero characters from any different cultural backgrounds and personally I don't believe there is any excuse good enough for that to be the case.

That being said I applaud Sierra Simone for writing a book that has a black heroine. To be quite honest it wasn't really any different from any other well written romance novel, after all she is still just a character with a darker complexion. But it was still nice to see myself in a story and Sierra did a brilliant job.

Race wasn't really a huge factor in the book, it only came up twice in a noticiable way. I thought it was so funny when Zenny had to change the pillowcases at Sean's house because they weren't suitable for her hair. LOL!

"...I’m sure they’re very nice pillowcases. But they’ll dry out my hair.”

Over all I enjoyed the book so much. There isn't a thing I would change or add. It was perfect, I am so excited to read Elijah's book! I have a feeling it's going to be explosive.

I can't recommend Sinner enough. It's just phenomenal.

#BUY SINNER TODAY! Amazon: myBook.to/SeanTheSinner iBooks: sierrasim.one/isinner Kobo: sierrasim.one/kobosinner Nook: sierrasim.one/nooksinner Add to Goodreads: sierrasim.one/GRsinner


bottom of page